÷The Princess and the Pea (and More) CD

In stock

This collection of performances was partly inspired by the art of Charley Harper, composed and conducted by Carmon DeLeone, and released on CD in 2005, originally sold by Cincinnati-area classical-music radio station WGUC (90.9MHz FM).

Beginning with six tracks of Fanfare, Funk & Fandango (An American Dance Set, 10:24), the first half of the CD finishes with The Princess and the Pea, a ballet in one act and 19 tracks (and 27:18). After this is a brief ballet piece from Billy Sunday titled Angel of Innocence (3:40), finishing the pieces involving the Cincinnati Ballet Orchestra.

The remainder of the album, almost half of it, consists of pieces specifically inspired by Charley Harper:

  • Harper Set #1 (For Flute, Piano and Percussion), tracks 27–42, 14:16
  • Harper Set #3 (For String Quintet), tracks 43–54, 15:11
  • Harper Sets Combo, tracks 55–59, 5:57

The booklet inside the CD case contains more information about Charley Harper, Carmon DeLeone, and the musical pieces, and it also includes full-color reproductions of the following Charley Harper pieces, many of which were not available for sale as prints when this CD was released:

  1. Yellow-Bellied Sapsucker
  2. Beetle Battle
  3. Hungry Eyes
  4. Wedding Feast
  5. Cool Cardinal
  6. The Last Sunflower Seed
  7. Birdwatcher
  8. Tall Tail
  9. Water Strider
  10. Cornprone
  11. B-r-r-r-r-rthday
  12. Pelican in a Downpour
  13. Down Under, Down Under
More Information